1. kittmaster
  2. RO CSVI
  3. Sunday, 20 September 2015
  4.  Subscribe via email
I have over 90K import to redo, at first all is well, but as I move to larger imports, it crashes after import preview.

I've tested 8700 import lines ok, went to 26000 lines and it causes it to crash, no error, no nothing....just white screen and stops.

Any ideas?

I've added the file here but is password protect as it now has private data I don't want people viewing.

Send me a private message and I'll give the password of the .csv file

Thanks Roland.

Chris
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
can't seem to upload it as file size is to big......and .rar won't go through...let me know how to get you the file.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 1
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Tried a list with 15000, that crashed too.....not sure what the limit is, but the files do fully upload and then it goes to the white screen and dies....no further action after that.....log shows nothing, just the start time, with an unknown event result.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 2
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Hello,

No need for the file, because "just white screen and stops" means you have an error but you have error reporting turned off. If you go to System -> Global configuration -> Server -> Error reporting and set this to Maximum or Developer and save the settings. Run the import again and you should see the error. Once we have the error we can investigate further or take action as needed.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 3
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
I tried that, there are no error messages, it just locks the browser up and stops.

Thoughts?

Anything under ~12K lines seems to load in just fine, anything over, this is the behavior I get.

I can give you access to try with two files I have.

Chris
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 4
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
I tried it again with different settings > dev > max > etc.

Nothing seems to allow me to see the issue.

Any further ideas? I need to get this sorted soon.

Thanks for your help.
Chris
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 5
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Hello Chris,

it just locks the browser up and stops.
So this is not the white screen you were talking about before? If you enabled the Debug System option of Joomla, that should be turned off as it can lock up the browser pretty easily with such a large file.

One more idea, you say you are uploading the file, what if you FTP the file to the server and let CSVI read the file from the folder, do you get the same white screen?
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 6
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
It is the same "lock up" with or without the debug mode on. Same white screen, but not total white screen, only the content area locks up. I can still "back" out of the page....just that the preview faults and stops leaving a white content area only. No debug info, no nothing.

I'll try to upload via ftp, I assume to the /root/tmp folder and look for it there? Never did the ftp method. Should be easy I suspect.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 7
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
I am getting this via FTP which may point to a problem in the upload version too:

The specified file /homepages/redacted/redacted/redacted/test.aaron-beachproductions/tmp/failed.csv is not a readable file

It was passed this file over and started to try an open the index.html until I gave it an exact path and file name......this was the result.......so something about this file it doesn't like, but its the same script and output used for the 12K or less which is fully operational via uploading.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 8
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Hello,

I'll try to upload via ftp, I assume to the /root/tmp folder and look for it there? Never did the ftp method. Should be easy I suspect.
This can be any folder you like as long as it is readable by CSVI. This could be /homepages/../test.aaron-beachproductions/tmp/. That way it is in the same location as the site.

The specified file /homepages/redacted/redacted/redacted/test.aaron-beachproductions/tmp/failed.csv is not a readable file
This message is generated by CSVI after it check if the file is a file or folder. These are checks done by PHP, so it would suggest to me it is something with either access rights to the folder or file that are not correct. This can happen if the FTP user is different from the Server user.

Another thing I was thinking in regards to the upload issue (which stores the file as the Server user) is that the CSV file may be too large and hits the server limit for allowed uploading of files. That is something you could check as well. Usually this limit is set around 2MB by hosters. You can check with your hoster what the limit is for your site and perhaps it needs increasing.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 9
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
I checked, its 40MB and the file is only 15.

There is something really wacky going on here, check the image, you'll see what I mean and why I'm stumped

http://www.kittmaster.com/imagedump/csvi/ServerImport.png
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 10
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
http://www.kittmaster.com/imagedump/csvi/TemplatePath.png
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 11
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Hello,

This is not so wacky once I tell you why ;)

You put in the folder name and not the complete path to the file. So CSVI finds the first file, which is the index.html file in that folder. After the tmp put Failed.csv so the path ends with /tmp/Failed.csv. Save the template after that and give it a try.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 12
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
That is how I got the error I mentioned about unreadable file. Here it is as you suggested:

http://www.kittmaster.com/imagedump/csvi/Originalpath.png
http://www.kittmaster.com/imagedump/csvi/Loaded.png
http://www.kittmaster.com/imagedump/csvi/Failed.png
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 13
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
A good night sleep later and I may have a lucid moment. The error states failed.csv and your FTP screenshot shows Failed.csv. On linux servers these are not the same file. So in your template change the filename to Failed.csv or perhaps better rename the file on the server to failed.csv.

Give it a try then.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 14
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Good point, thank linux.......LOL. But that wasn't it either, something else is going on when the import works, its destroying the file:

http://www.kittmaster.com/imagedump/csvi/ImportCSVI.htm

CHeck that out.....could be the issue at hand.

Thanks,
Chris
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 15
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Hello Chris,

That is a good find but still has me confused. What happens is when you go to the preview, CSVI makes a copy of the original file, so it can do with it what it wants. It seems it is the copy process where it fails.

If you can send me a private message with Joomla and FTP access, I can check the issue further to see what happens. Are you using the FTP layer by any chance?
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 16
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Message and data sent.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 17
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Data received, could you please put the file in the tmp folder? I don't see it at the moment.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 18
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Uploaded.....TY
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 19
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
Hello Chris,

Look at the attached image, without any changes to the system.

Which browser are you using? In my case I used FireFox, altough I fail to see how that would be of influence.
Attachments (1)
  1. more than a month ago
  2. RO CSVI
  3. # 20
  • Page :
  • 1
  • 2


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!