RO Users is a nifty little tool that cleans out any old users on your site based on your settings. This makes keeping your site clean with only active users a breeze. You only need to set it up once and then it runs completely unattended as a cron job. There is also an unsubscribe link in-case users no longer want to be contacted and they will be deleted immediately.
- Checks if any users logged in, so we can remove them from the queue of users to be deleted
- Check any bounced emails, these users can be deleted immediately
- Add users to the deletion queue if they match the settings for stale users
- Auto-delete users that have never visited the site
- If turned on, send out the first reminder email
- If turned on, send out the second reminder email
- Delete any users in the deletion queue
- Replace any invalid users linked to articles
These 8 steps are performed every time the RO Users script runs.
Exceptions to the rule
There are cases where you do not want to delete a user, even if the user is not active, for example if the user has made a purchase on your site or placed a comment in your forum. We provide plugins that will prevent these users from being deleted. Of course we only have a few plugins, you can also write your own plugin for whichever system you use to prevent users from being deleted.