SETTINGS

From the website backend, select Components -> RCP User to access the component menu. Then click on the Options button in the top right corner.

General settings

To open the General options view, go to the RCP User component, open the Users view and click on the Options button in the upper right corner. This view contains a number of parameters that determine the behaviour of the RCP User Manager.

Account expiration (days) - Every user that has not logged in for this number of days since the last log in, is marked as expired and queued for deletion. For example if today is May 1st 2017 and the number of days is set to 365, any user who did not log in after May 1st 2018 will be queued for deletion.
First reminder (days) - Determines how many days after the user was queued for deletion the first reminder needs to be send out. This is the message with message type ‘Not logged in’.
Second reminder (days) - Determines how many days after the user was queued for deletion the second reminder needs to be send out. This is the message with message type ‘Account to be deleted’.
Delete account (days) - Determines how many days after the user was queued for deletion the account will actually be deleted. The user will be mailed the message with message type ‘Account deleted’.
Auto-delete no visit - If set to ‘Yes’, user accounts that never visited the website are automatically deleted. Set to ‘No’, these accounts are never deleted.
Email limit - Set the maximum number of emails to send every time.
Whitelist - A list of email addresses that are never to be deleted. Enter one email address per line.

Mailbox settings

To set the 'Bounce email' settings for your website, go to General options, select 'RCP User' from the menu on the left and click on the 'Mailbox' tab. This is where you specify where bounced email messages are being sent to.

Bounce address - The email address where bounced messages are being sent to.
Username - The username for the email account.
Password - The password for the email account.
Hostname - The hostname of the mail server.
Port - The port number to connect to the mail server.
Validate certificate - Set to 'Yes' if the server certificate should be validated.

Menu

From the website backend, select Components -> RCP User to access the component menu.

Users

The User View shows a list of all user accounts. This list has some filter options to search for users. If you click on a user, you are redirected to the default Joomla! User Manager.

Messages

Messages are used to inform users by email about the (pending) removal status of their account. There are 4 messages types, each corresponding with a specific status.

Not logged in - this is the first warning message that is being sent to users warning them their account will be deleted if they don’t log in within a specified time.
Never logged in - this message is sent to users whose accounts have been delete because they have never logged in to the website.
Account to be deleted - this is the second warning message that is being sent to users warning them their account will be deleted if they don’t log in within a specified time.
Account deleted - this message is sent to users whose accounts have been deleted because they didn’t respond to two previous warning messages.

You can user three placeholders to personalise your message:
[name] - The name of the user as stored in the user account details.
[username] - The username of the user.
[optout] - A direct link users can click on to opt-out immediately. By following this link, the user is removed from the user account list.

Queue

Select Queue from the menu to view the user accounts that are queued for deletion. You can also use this view to check if the first and second reminder mails have been sent. See the appropriate columns.

Use the ‘Delete’ button on the top left of the screen to delete the selected items from the queue. User accounts are not deleted, they are just removed from the queue.

Bounce emails

Select the menu option 'Bounce emails' to view the email messages that were bounced. You can open each message to see why it bounced.

From the Bounce emails view, select one or more emails and click on the 'Delete' button in the upper left corner to delete them.

Front-end

A front-end page if users select to opt-out from the user account list.

Opt-out page

In your email messages, you can provide a link for users to opt-out immediately. See the exaplanation of how messages work.

If a user clicks on the link and the user account is found, it will be deleted permanently. The user is shown a confirmation message that the account has been deleted. In case the account cannot be found or the token is invalid, the user will be shown the relevant message.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.